CLASSES, BOOKS, T'S, PAID EVENTS > Poets Speak Anthology Series
Poets Speak Anthology Series

The product you selected is currently unavailable.

Price: $60.00
Availability: in stock
Prod. Code: 2017 anthology

Anthology Subscription Announcement from John Roche

In order to finance this project, we are offering subscriptions:
$60 will get you the first five volumes, including postage.


Hi Friends!

I have decided to start a series of mini-anthologies (each less than a hundred pages), in response to the national and planetary crisis provoked by the fraudulent election of 11/8/16. It will be called "Poets Speak (while we still can)" and will be co-published by Beatlick Press and Jules' Poetry Playhouse Publications. Noted Albuquerque artist Denise Weaver Ross has already designed striking covers for the series.

I envision these as rapid responses in the tradition of Medieval and Renaissance broadsides, Tom Paine's pamphlets, Walt Whitman's The 18th President and Democratic Vistas, Emanuel Haldeman-Julius's Blue Books, the IWW Songbook, the A.J. Muste Memorial pamphlet series, and Samizdat dissident publications from behind the Iron Curtain.

Any profits arising from this series will be donated to the following organizations:

The Southwest Women’s Law Center, the American Civil Liberties Union, the Southern Poverty Law Center, the National Immigration Law Center, and the Indigenous Environmental Network.



Volume 1: Trumped! - AVAILABLE VERY SOON!
(How we got into this predicament)

Volume 2: Hers
Edited by Jules Nyquist
(Struggles for equal rights on the basis of gender, race, sexuality, national origin, abilities, etc.)

Volume 3: Water
(Protecting our life source)

Volume 4: Survival
(Surviving Trumplandia, physically, politically, emotionally, both as individuals and as communities)

Volume 5: Walls
(Physical and abstract borders that divide us)

In order to finance this project, we are offering subscriptions:
$60 will get you the first five volumes, including postage.

FYI when you order please add your credit card 3 digit code after your name, as this system does not have  a space to enter it. Thanks!


Volume 1 projected publication date is April 2017.

 

If you are looking to SUBMIT poems to the anthologies, please click here:  http://www.julesnyquist.com/catalog/item/1420675/10304443.htm

Jules and I, along with Beatlick editors Pamela Hirst and Deborah Coy, are eager to get started on the Poets Speak series, which we hope will provide another front in the principled resistance this moment in history demands, as well as a space for poets to come together, "while we still can."

John Roche