SUBMISSIONS Poets Speak
Poets Speak Anthology Submission

SUBMISSIONS OPEN


 


Poets Speak is a series of anthologies that will be published via print in five separate volumes or mini-anthologies (each less than a hundred pages), in response to the national and planetary crisis provoked by the election of 11/8/16. It will be called "Poets Speak (while we still can)", and will be co-published by Beatlick Press and Jules' Poetry Playhouse Publications. Noted Albuquerque artist Denise Weaver Ross has already designed striking covers for the series.

John Roche, editor, envisions these anthologies as rapid responses in the tradition of Medieval and Renaissance broadsides, Tom Paine's pamphlets, Walt Whitman's The 18th President and Democratic Vistas, Emanuel Haldeman-Julius's Blue Books, the IWW Songbook, the A.J. Muste Memorial pamphlet series, and Samizdat dissident publications from behind the Iron Curtain.

Submissions are now open.  Note the deadlines for each publication.

You may submit up to three poems, in one Word document, per volume, to poetsspeak2017@gmail.com

Please do not send poems longer than 60 lines. Please specify the specific volume you are applying to in the email header. Please include name, email, and mailing address, as well as 50-word bio.

Poems previously published in journals or on blogs, but not in other anthologies, will be considered, if you include citations.

Jan. 1 deadline - CLOSED FOR SUBMISSIONS
Volume 1: Trumped!
(How we got into this predicament)


February 1, 2017 CLOSED FOR SUBMISSIONS
Volume 2: Hers
Edited by Jules Nyquist
(Struggles for  womens issues, equal rights, suffrage, women in politics, nasty women, or women related politics)


March 1, 2017 CLOSED FOR SUBMISSIONS
Volume 3: Water
(Protecting our life source)

 

OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS

April 1, 2017 submission deadline
Volume 4: Survival
(Surviving Trumplandia, physically, politically, emotionally, both as individuals and as communities)

May 1, 2017 submission deadline
 Volume 5: Walls
(Physical and abstract borders that divide us)


There is no charge to submit your work.  Contributors get a discounted price on each volune.


In order to finance this project, we are offering subscriptions. If you choose to order a subscription, $60 will get you the entire five volumes including postage for them to be mailed to you individually.

Info on subscriptions here: Subscriptions


Jules Nyquist and John Roche, along with Beatlick editors Pamela Hirst and Deborah Coy, are eager to get started on the Poets Speak series, which we hope will provide another front in the principled resistance this moment in history demands, as well as a space for poets to come together, "while we still can."

John Roche

Editor, Poets Speak Anthology Series


Sneak peek:  The cover of Trumped!