Poets Speak
Poets Speak Anthology Series

 


 


Poets Speak is a series of anthologies that are published via print in five separate volumes or mini-anthologies (each less than a hundred pages), in response to the national and planetary crisis provoked by the election of 11/8/16. "Poets Speak (while we still can)", is co-published by Beatlick Press and Jules' Poetry Playhouse Publications. Noted Albuquerque artist Denise Weaver Ross is Art Editor with cover design for the series, along with John Roche, Series Editor.

John Roche, editor, envisions these anthologies as rapid responses in the tradition of Medieval and Renaissance broadsides, Tom Paine's pamphlets, Walt Whitman's The 18th President and Democratic Vistas, Emanuel Haldeman-Julius's Blue Books, the IWW Songbook, the A.J. Muste Memorial pamphlet series, and Samizdat dissident publications from behind the Iron Curtain.

Any profits arising from this series will be donated to the following organizations:

The Southwest Women’s Law Center, the American Civil Liberties Union, the Southern Poverty Law Center, the National Immigration Law Center, and the Indigenous Environmental Network.


 

AVAILABLE IN PRINT  NOW!
Volume 1: Trumped!
(How we got into this predicament)

click ADD TO CART from the link below

Here is the link to order your copy: https://www.createspace.com/6977061

Also available on Amazon.

 

AVAILABLE IN PRINT NOW! 

Here is the link to order your copy: https://www.createspace.com/7120940
Volume 2: Hers

Edited by Jules Nyquist
(Struggles for  womens issues, equal rights, suffrage, women in politics, nasty women, or women related politics)

 “Hers”  is a timely new book focusing on poems that address women’s issues.

As editor of this volume,” says Jules Nyquist, “I have selected poems that address women's issues in various areas.  Women's struggles are more important than ever since the Trump Administration took power in 2017.”

From the ice age, through Biblical stories, the Madonna, and how women are perceived in history, Hers captures that wildness inside all women.  Hers explores women's bodies and self-worth, the invisibility of older women in society,  what women endure with domestic violence and relationships, what women learn from mothers or pass on to our daughters. Hers brings us into the everyday life of women and girls, and how we find strengths at home, in the workplace or out in the world.  Hers takes on politics and world issues, especially since the Trump administration, the 2017 Women's March, the struggle to pass the ERA, and reproductive rights.  Hers authors are from many states in the U.S., as well as Mexico, the U.K. and Scotland including Margaret Randall, Judy Grahn, Jane Lipman, Lyn Lifshin, Lisa Alvarado, Patricia Roth Schwartz and many other poets and photographers.



Volume 3: Water - COMING SOON
(Protecting our life source)

Volume 4: Survival
(Surviving Trumplandia, physically, politically, emotionally, both as individuals and as communities)

Volume 5: Walls
(Physical and abstract borders that divide us)

Readings in various cities are listed on the CALENDAR tab of this website.

 

Jules Nyquist and John Roche, along with Beatlick Press, as publishers of  the Poets Speak series, hope this series will provide another front in the principled resistance this moment in history demands, as well as a space for poets to come together, "while we still can."

John Roche

Editor, Poets Speak Anthology Series